On the morning of October 16, 1968, U.S. athlete Tommie Smith won the 200 meter race in a then-world-record time of 19.83 seconds, with Australia’s Peter Norman second with a time of 20.07 seconds, and the U.S.’s John Carlos in third place with a time of 20.10 seconds. After the race was completed, the three went to collect their medals at the podium. The two U.S. athletes received their medals shoeless, but wearing black socks, to represent black poverty. Smith wore a black scarf around his neck to represent black pride. Carlos had his tracksuit top unzipped to show solidarity with all blue collar workers in the U.S. and wore a necklace of beads which he described “were for those individuals that were lynched, or killed and that no-one said a prayer for, that were hung and tarred. It was for those thrown off the side of the boats in the middle passage.”

 

To view the remainder of this feature, purchase your copy of “D’s 2-cents.”  Send your request to damonduncan7@yahoo.com .

Comments
  1. Damon Sr. says:

    I do feel with my generation that black pride does not exist. It is only a small percentage of folks that carry on the good moral values are parents passed down to us.

  2. Mel B. says:

    D,

    In the short time we’ve known each other, I would have to say that in many ways we share a kindred spirit. We relish our history and show true concern for our futures. I must admit, I haven’t done nearly enough to encourage, enrich and educate my kids on Black History. I could use the excuse that my parents didn’t, so I didn’t know. Truth is, if I know they didn’t, then I know enough to break the cycle. And I will.. starting today.

  3. […] NurseTips added an interesting post today on Is Black Pride Lost in 2009?Here’s a small readingSmith later said “If I win, I am American, not a black American. … for a deeper historical perspective is non-existent.  It Makes Me Wanna […]

  4. Cassandra says:

    Nice article on Black pride which is really about self-esteem, loving the skin we’re in, and honoring our past.

  5. Rashad says:

    I think the facade of affluence and the “we’ve made it” attitude has rendered Black Pride non-existent. I just think things aren’t quite as dire as they were in ’68, but that doesn’t mean that serious issues aren’t out there to discuss and raise a fuss about. So basically, there needs to be an ’09 version of black pride developed, and that is a challenge. I think I’m rambling here..

  6. Cynda says:

    I was blessed to be born in Southside Chicago where Black Pride was promoted at every turn…In my Poppa’s church we celebrated several influential black legends EVERY month. I was blessed to know my history. I have in turn continued to teach the lessons of history to my daughter, nephews and nieces. We have to participate in the teaching of our children…If they can learn about and recognize the beauty, strength and wisdom of their past they will surely see more possibilities in themselves.

  7. MichelleP says:

    I believe that we as a people overall have fallen by the wayside in regards to teaching our children about black history and the meaning of black pride. For myself, I believe that I’ve just tried to be the best me irregardless of color. Dismissing to some extent the racism I experience just in driving through my community.

    This could be one of the many reasons that the drop-out rate is so high. When I was recently in Chicago, I just sensed a feeling of hopelessness as I looked at people in the community. I see it in my own family. It’s like they don’t see anything better for themselves. Maybe if they knew the obstacles our forefathers had to overcome to make it , they would be able to look past and press beyond their own personal obstacles to be who God ordained them to be. Not seeing the color of their skin, texture of their hair as a hinderance to success but genuinely loving themselves for who they are and embracing a future that is brighter than their present.

    I know our grandparents would roll over intheir graves to see the state of our people as a whole.

  8. steven banks says:

    when i watched the results tallied in on that wondrous evening in november of the election of our first black president, it was without a doubt the most prideful id ever felt as a black man..the images i watched on tv not soon thereafter reflected the same picture,smiles, eyes wide open with pride and peoples spirits now bustling with admiration and hope..the way i see it is, the black man has come full circle “providence”.we were kings initially upon this earth and we have rightfully so assumed the position of leadership, teaching,nurturing, and protecting again.i understand our years or conditioning has a lot of people living a complacent existence just going on trying to keep up with the jones literally but i proclaim there is an underground voice of liked minded people holding onto black pride and promoting it whenever given the chance..somethings just have to happen naturally, majestically..thats why we have a black president in our lifetimes..i time we surely thought would never come..

  9. Tony Fleming says:

    I complain about my teenager’s indifference more than I praise her senses of pride and history… It was her that convinced me to forget about Obama as a symbolic candidate and vote for him as our next president during the campaign… Children sometimes speak, in their simplicity, more wisely than their elders… Now if I could just get her to stop watching so much VH1!

  10. Sabin says:

    Am I the only one who ponders that in this time of political correctness, we have suppressed our Black Pride in the name of diversity? Diversity is noble, it’s even cool – but should not stand as a replacement for Black Pride. I think society attempts to convince us that Black Pride is reverse racism (nonsense). I’m convinced however that we all share the guilt – as when we were children, we were only so many years removed from the Black Panthers, Civil Rights & etc. But now, we are nearly two generations removed and our culture has become trivialized with buffoonery with a heavy bass line. The re-establishment of Black Pride starts with us.

  11. Kelly says:

    Persistence; that is the word that comes to mind and it is that which we need to regain what we have lost. I am in this everyday and when I try to teach my students about our history, its truly as if they don’t want to know. They can’t make the connection to understand that they have the freedom to say “Boy I wish they woulda did or said that to me” or to talk about what they would have done. While teaching them I remind myself of our struggles and just how much we have overcome as a people; then I am shoved back two steps when I realize that what we have to overcome now is the complaisancy in our own youth who are uninspired and plain ignorant to our greatness. Its a battle to be fought everyday but I love reading your messages-keep them coming.

  12. kshoneychild says:

    JACKSONVILLE, Fla. — The search is on for a team of crooks who robbed an Arlington couple at gunpoint for their takeout Popeye’s chicken.

    According to police, a young mother was leaving her shift after closing the Popeye’s restaurant in Arlington on Atlantic Boulevard when she noticed she was being followed home.

    Authorities said four men drove by several times in a burgundy Pontiac sedan yelling, “give us the chicken, ” at the woman and her boyfriend.

    The couple ignored the men and continued walking back to their house, thinking the group was gone. However, the men in the car then started driving slowly toward the couple and turned off their headlights.

    Police said one of the passengers got out of the car with a shotgun and yelled, “You know what time it is. Give it up.” They said the man ordered the victim to put down the chicken, saying if she didn’t she would be shot.

    According to a police report, the gunman pointed the barrel of the gun at the victim and that’s when her boyfriend pleaded and begged, telling the man the woman is two months pregnant.

    Police said after the victims were on the ground, the crooks also stole the victim’s purse. As the gunman was walking away, the victims told police they could hear the other people in the car yelling to “blast him.”

    The victims said the woman had just gotten paid at work and was going to spend her earnings on her 5-year-old daughter, whose birthday is on Saturday.

    People in the area told Channel 4 they aren’t shocked at all by the crime.

    “It is very ridiculous. It’s nothing new. Crime has grown so much in Jacksonville, it’s unreal, ” said Brandy Thomas.

    Police said another armed robbery took place at about the same time and only a mile away from the chicken robbery. It’s unclear whether the robberies are connected.

  13. Lisa says:

    Well, Brotha’ D…you did it again!

    Struck a big nerve! I see it every day….young black men and young black women acting a plum fool at work, smoking, drinking, cursing, and shaking everything their momma gave them in the name of “keeping it real”! No one has told them that slavery was real, lynching and rape was real, and not some made for tv movie! My very light-skinned daughter getting picked on daily because her browner counterparts can’t stand looking at her! No one has told them that she is intelligent, beautiful, affectionate, and kind. I, too, experienced some of that same mess growing up…even from family. I was told I was adopted, left behind by some white/pink folks that said I was too dark, then they would all laugh not even seeing my face full of pain. I learned a long time ago, that you have to make your own mark and not be slowed by the ignorance of others. I was then and still am BLACK…and I love it!

    I would like to think that I have given my children a good start, by teaching them about our ancestors in and out of the family. But it doesn’t stop there. We have got to show pride in our black people by loving each other and by not hating on each other! I tried to do this by shaving my head in support of Mel’s cousin Jeanie, who has breast cancer. I told her she would not suffer alone and she would not be bald alone! My daughter and lots of adults didn’t understand that, thought it was a bit much to do for someone else. I tried to explain to her and the adults that God has something for all of us to do. Most of which will include taking care of one another. We all seem to forget about that while living in our big homes and driving our benzo’s and wearing all the bling! Black pride is about the great big picture of you, me, and the whole black family! We have got to do it for each other. By now, we should know that no one else will do it for us. Although I love him and happy that he made it, Obama or not, we will still be black! He is not, afterall, our Savior!

    I love you…keep up the good works!

  14. Kelly says:

    Thanks for this blog.. I did not know what each article of clothing they wore ment nor the glove. Black Pride really was not discussed in my household coming up. I just remember my dad always saying Vote our people died to Vote. He also could never understand why black youths wanted to sit on the back row of the public buses when it was a time when our people could not sit up front. I know those things bothered him so he talked about them and education alot. Good blog

  15. Harold says:

    As I watched the Inauguration Day celebration of our President, I was filled with a sense of pride I’d never felt before, but one particular moment struck me more than any other. When the President and First Lady first arrived at the White House to meet with outgoing President Bush, they exited their vehicle and were met by the crisp salutes of the two Marine Corps honor guards who stood on post. I wept nearly uncontrollably. Why? Because of the stories my father, who was, and is, my original Black hero, told me about his days serving in the United States Marine Corps. He told me about the day he told a white marine to “kiss his black ass.” The other white marines, (dad was the only black in his platoon), got such a charge out of the expression that anyone else who used “the word”-the N-word, that is-faced severe retribution from the members of dad’s platoon. Most strikingly, I remember him telling me about the first time he encountered a black officer. He was walking past him on base, and as he spoke, he noticed the lieutenant bars on his collar. Dad snapped a hasty salute. The other officer smiled as if to say, “no harm bro. I know you’re not used to seeing this.” From that day forward, every time dad saw that officer, he would run across the road to salute him, especially in the view of white marines.

    Now, here were two marines, standing on post at the White House, saluting the most powerful leader in the free world…who happens to be a Black man. And the tears began to flow.

    I’ve never been so proud to be a Black man in my life.

Leave a Reply

