35. These three words

Posted: July 21, 2009 in family
Tags: , ,

comic

When was the last time

That they heard you say

Mother or father, I love you

And when was the last time

That they heard you say

Daughter or son, I love you

(lyrics from Stevie Wonder’s These Three Words)

Lately there appears to be a number of significant loses.  People are losing homes.  They’re losing jobs.  They’re losing….well, people.

Earlier this week, prior to leaving home, I packed my bag and rushed out of the door in dreaded anticipation of the chaos Hartsfield Jackson International sometimes brings.  As usual, I kiss my wife goodbye and leave the kids with minimal instructions like “behave while I’m gone” and “DJ you’re the man of the house while I’m away” and so on.  It was not until I arrived in New York that I realized that I failed to tell my family that I love them.  Not only had I failed to tell them on this particular occasion; but far too many prior to this week.

As I look around I see people losing loved ones almost weekly and I make it a point to say a kind word and to sincerely keep them in my prayers.  Last month my wife’s co-worker was tragically killed on I-75 along with one of her children.  Her husband and son survived physically; but I’m sure the emotional injury is one that is irreparable.

As we all do, I sometimes pause in life to think about how life would be without one of my loved ones and how their lives would be without me.  The mere thought brings tears to my eyes as I quickly move on to more pleasant thoughts.  But when I hear of yet another tragic fatality, the thoughts return.

Two weeks ago Pastor Purvis launched a series entitled Heaven and Hell.  He is providing theological, bible-based discourse about the profound issue of the afterlife. This sermon series comes at a time when many are asking the question – “Is it all in vain?”

There are so many things I want to accomplish in this lifetime, so many things I want to experience.  Although I may not have the best relationship with all my family members – I do want them to know that I love them.

damon dom cece pic

The best way I can express this is to write my own eulogy:

“Here lies Damon E. Duncan.  He was an educator, a consultant, an entrepreneur, an athlete, a philanthropist, a preacher and more importantly, a child of God. He was a father, son, husband, brother, uncle, grandson, nephew, cousin, grandfather and friend.  He believed in helping somebody, everyday.  There are many things we could say about his life but we can sum it all up by simply stating – most of all, he loved his family.”

If you are reading this post, you still have time to communicate love.  As I close, I pose the question that Stevie Wonder penned – When was the last time?

Until next time,

untitled

Comments
  1. Sabin says:

    In the coolest, most masculine voice I can muster … I love you, man.

    (all cool cats throw the “man” at the end of brotherly affection)

  2. Rashad says:

    Come on Sab, no disclaimers are needed when expressing brotherly love. So if Jamal, if you’re reading, I love you

    man.

  3. Autwan Roland says:

    I was confronted with a similar, and I constantly remind myself never to take life and opportunities for granted. Thanks for allowing God to live big within you.

Leave a Reply

