“The jungle creed says the strong must feed on any prey it can.  And I was branded beast at every feast before I ever became a man.”

In 1975, a soul music group penned a song that has meaningful implications 35 years later.  It was articulated in a song that was conceived by percussionists Papa Dee Allen and Harold Brown of the group called War.   That song is called “The World is a Ghetto.”…………

This is available in hard copy at http://www.lulu.com/content/paperback-book/ds-2-cents/7806521

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    You hit the nail on the head. The world IS a ghetto. Last week my neighbor was robbed at gunpoint and we live an an exclusive community. This sh*t has gotten out of control. For the first time, I’m actually considering purchasing a gun to protect my family.

  2. It was a rather cruel trifecta for me. I am a huge fan of the sweet science so the events of the past few weeks bore into my consciousness. Three pugulists whom I admired for so many different reasons, departed earth in violent and bizzare fashions.Alexis,Arturo and Vernon. I have tried to make sense ot it all. I cling to the knowledge that one day we all must exit into eternity,but for those left to mourn, it is a bitter medicine. Funny, back in the day when we sang the words, they did not resonate until I read this blog .Indeed, if “the world is a ghetto”, let’s try to make our stay here ,meaningful. Keep the words coming.

Leave a Reply

