42. African American Idol: Talking with Trenyce

Posted: August 26, 2009 in African American, Black entertainment
Tags: , , , , ,

American Idol

In 2002 American Idol debuted, and has since become one of the most popular shows on American television.  In 2003, Season 2 of American Idol was the leading reality television program. 

It was Season 2 that gave us Clay Aiken and the contest winner, Rueben Studdard.  Season 2 also yielded one of the most diversely talented women to enter the contest.

For those of us who partook of these new phenomena are sure to recall Trenyce Cobbins – the sister who was a finalist during that second season; ultimately finishing in fifth place.

FathersFootprints’ Blog is proud to have as part of its project Ms. Trenyce Cobbins. 

Name: TRENYCE COBBINS

Occupation(s): Singer, actress, model

Vital Stats: Single, University of Memphis graduate (Music & Biology) ’99

Hometown: Memphis, TN

Current Residence: Los Angeles, CA

FathersFootprints: How did you get your start in the music business?

Trenyce:  Music has always been the soundtrack to my life. I grew up in a household of singers. My mother and father met in a singing group and were signed to Staxx Records, but my mother got cold feet and felt weird about wearing tight dresses and makeup. The group broke up but my parents married. Every weekend to make the cleanup process a fun one, my father would put on records. We had a room that was a spare, used just for what we called “the music room”, be/c the acoustics was so good in there, and I would sing my heart out. (lol) It was what made me the most happy. I got my first shot at singing in front of a crowd in Kindergarten, got a standing “o” and has been hooked ever since.

FathersFootprints: Tell us about the “Idol” experience.

Trenyce Cobbins 2

Trenyce:  Idol was a great experience. The part that made it a proud moment for me was when I saw I was willing to stand in line on the rooftop in Nashville while it was freezing, rainy and full of excited hopefuls singing to the top of their lungs. There were 3,000 people in line and the producers only took the first 500…I was #246. Another highlight was the words “You’re going to Hollywood!”, because I’d seen the show before so I’d played it out in my mind so many times that it felt like an out of body experience to actually hear it. I was truly proud of myself. And I don’t think up to that point I could ever say that I was truly “proud” to have endured something. Last but not least, the tour. The tour was in a category all by itself. That experience taught me stamina, pacing, and what it felt like to be a “star”. I could stand on a stage every night ALL night and never get tired. I could sing until my voice turned hoarse every night for the rest of my life. It awakens something in me that married my talent with my “self”.

FathersFootprints: Which “Idol” performance were you most proud of and why?

 Trenyce:  I was most proud of my tour performances, not the actual show performances. Everyone who knows me knows that I hate to go back to those clips because I didn’t feel like I could really be myself. We were not allowed to be soulful that year and so it dumbed me down as an artist a little bit. By the time the tour came…I could be who I was and was very free to engage the audience with “Trenyce” not a version of me. I will never forget when Clive Davis came to our show in NY with his son and grandson. He walked up to me and took me into a room with the Idol crew and said “You my dear are a star. I haven’t heard anyone sing “I Have Nothing” like that since Nippy (Whitney Houston’s Nickname)” and he asked them to get me a meeting with him. It never happened. But it confirmed to me that I was meant to do this, all I needed was the right person/people to believe and move in my favor. I was thrilled!

FathersFootprints: What stumbling blocks have you encountered with the completion of your first album?Trenyce Cobbins

Trenyce:  The stumbling blocks have been what most artists go through, I think. Money.  Producers having/taking other gigs while you are trying to complete your project. Money…lol….I mean, I never got a deal offer and so it has been ten times harder for me. I see/saw a lot of Idols come right off the show and into a deal…not me. I came off the show, waited….and then decided that while I was “waiting” I would take what did come to me….acting. And I haven’t stopped since.

 Please don’t be mislead by the photo, Trenyce has plenty more to say.  Be sure to check back in a couple days to see the remainder of the Trenyce Cobbins’ interview.

Until next time,

Damon sig

 

 

Copyright © 2009

Comments
  1. Diane says:

    I saw her in the Idol tour and she was fantastic! Sadly, none of her other shows have come close to me. I still hope to see her in something again some day.

  2. Jeff says:

    I love Trenyce. I was rooting for big-time! Glad to see she has a CD coming out soon. How do we find out more information about the release date?

  3. Anonymous says:

    HOW DO YOU KEEP PULLING THESE OFF!!! THE PEOPLE YOU ARE INTERVIEWING ARE AMAZING PEOPLE. HAVE YOU CONSIDERED WORKING FOR A MAJOR BLACK PUBLICATION. YOU WORK IS HOTTTT!!!!!!

  4. JJ says:

    Trenyce should’ve finished much higher than 5th. She was clearly one of the top three singers that season. I’m curious to know when the CD is coming out. I’ll be one of the first to buy one!

  5. Rachel Araya says:

    I love the video. Trenyce is a very talented woman. God has blessed her with a beautiful voice. I’m looking forward to hearing more from Trenyce.

    Great interview Damon!

  6. Mr. Man says:

    This was a good interview. I’ve been trying to find out what she was up to. We fell out of contact after I was cut from Idol.

  7. Great site…keep up the good work.

  8. Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

  9. Dan Baskin says:

    Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

  10. Jsacto says:

    It’s amazing how Randy and Simon had so many negative things to say about Trynice and Jennifer hudson, and they were the most talented on idol since it’s beginning. Yet, Chris won last year. Yeah right….Keep doing your thing brother, love your website.

Leave a Reply

