44. Say it Loud – I’m Black and I’m Proud

Posted: September 3, 2009 in African American, Black Pride, faith
Tags: , , ,

“Say It Loud – I’m Black and I’m Proud” is a funk song written and recorded by James Brown in 1968. It is notable both as one of Brown’s signature songs and as one of the most popular “black power” anthems of the 1960s. The song was released as a two-part single which held the number-one spot on the R&B singles chart for six weeks, and peaked at number ten on the Billboard Hot 100.  Both parts of the single were later included on a 1969 album of the same name. Wiki

FathersFootprints has gained a reputation for securing quality interviews with interesting people from various walks of life.   Today’s special guest comes to us from Detroit, Michigan.  World, I introduce to you, Mr. Phil Black.

 

Phil BlackName: Phil Black

DOB: 6/3/77

Residence: Detroit, MI

Education:Continuing student at  Eastern Michigan University

Family Status: Single

Favorite Quote: “The separation from good to great only has a distance of six letters… DESIRE.” –Phil Black

 

In August of 2009, Phil Black released his first book entitled – From Me to You.   Phil penned a collection of letters to various individuals who have impacted his life.  Through these letters we find the hurt, the pain and the passion that collectively worked to shape the man we now know as Mr. Black.

FathersFootprints recently caught up with our dear brother from The Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated to learn more about the motivation for such a book.

FathersFootprints: Step outside of yourself and tell us exactly who is this man known as Phil Black?

Black: The short answer… I am just a regular guy. The only difference between myself and some, is that I have an overwhelming desire to help people realize how who they are, what they can become and just how much God loves them.

FathersFootprints: You have a background in sales.  What caused you to write a book?

Black: First let me say, I have developed a high level of respect and love for the sales profession over the years. And though my experience in the sales industry played a vital role in my development, I always knew it would never be my calling. As I meet people throughout life, I realize how many of us are searching for truth and identity. God gave me the vision for this book to help in that search.

FathersFootprints: Your level of transparency in this book is refreshing, but yet surprising.  Exposing yourself can be risky.  What caused you to want to make so much of your private life public?

Black: In one of the commentaries featured in the book I make the statement, “Sometimes it takes a person to stand out before others will stand up.” I truly desire to help people overcome the issues that hinder them from progressing in life. And while I felt the fear of overexposing myself many times throughout the process, I knew the only way to do that was to be completely open.

FathersFootprints: We share a love for Omega.  The cardinal principles of our fraternity as clearly articulated throughout your book.  If you had to choose only one, which principle has had the most profound effect on you?

Black: When you look at our four principles of MANHOOD, SCHOLARSHIP, PERSEVERANCE and UPLIFT, it is difficult to select one. They all mean so much to me. But if I had to use one, to describe my life and the message I have been given, it would have to me the third, PERSEVERANCE. I truly believe the only way to fail is by first never trying, and secondly giving up.

FathersFootprints: We pride ourselves on writing about Blacks.  Black issues, Black challenges, Black whatever.  With a name like Phil Black, you’re a Godsend for our readers.  Without giving away too much of the book, what was it like growing up being a darker brother while bearing the last name “Black?”

Black: Comedy. Unfortunately most of it was at my expense. I developed a serious complex that lead to deep depression and nearly turned fatal. But today is a new day; thanks to my Aunt and guys like Wesley Snipes, I have an entirely new outlook. I even tell joke about myself now.

Phil Black 2

Phil has single-handedly resurrected the soul-stirring sounds of James Brown.  We should all be proud of Phil.

Having read the book myself, I highly recommend you purchase a copy.  If you have ever battled with depression; been made to feel like the ugly duckling; or lived a life without the presence of your father – this book is a must for you.  I’m sure this won’t be the last you hear from Phil.

In the words of Mr. Black:  From Me to You,

Damon signature 

 

To order your copy of this memoir simply go to the Black Marketplace on this blogsite, click on the book and order or simply click the link http://philblackonline.com/.

Copyright © 2009

Comments
  1. robminx says:

    A great interview with a great regular guy. I really dig your blog. Keep doing you to the glory of God. Please feel free to stop by my Robminx blog and tell me what you think. The world needs to hear your voice!

    Robminx

  2. Que Time says:

    This is some straight-up good shit! No doubt. Excuse my french but I couldn’t find any other words to describe it. Roo

  3. Grace says:

    This is a very interesting post. I’ll be sure to get the book. I know what those gold boots mean. I too, know a little something about being made to feel like the ugly duckling. Phil Black, you should be thanking God everyday that he sought to call you out and give you such a profound name. Grace

  4. BullNasty 84 says:

    Keep it going full steam ahead my brother, true success is within reach. Much Love to you! Roo….84

  5. Damon says:

    Special kudos to Bro. Phil Black. His life is a testimony of God’s grace and mercy. Thanks for allowing us to share in your experience.

    ~DDuncan

  6. Phil Black says:

    Thank you Damon, fathersfootprints.com and all readers for your encouraging words and comments. I wish you much success with the site and future endeavors. You are doing a great service to the community. God bless.

    -Phil Black

Leave a Reply

