51. It’s real Jazzy Belle

Posted: September 24, 2009 in African American, Black entertainment, Black Pride, Culture, daughters, Relationships
Tags: , , , ,

A few days ago I wrote a blog entitled Where did we go wrong? The intent was to cast light on the profound issue of brothers exploiting the sisters. This particular feature is directed to the sisters who may fit the description of exploiting themselves. If I step on any toes, excuse me in advance. If you’re not guilty of the following, simply forward the link to someone you know. In 1997 the famous rap duo from Atlanta known as OutKast penned a joint entitled Jazzy Belle.

According to Wiki, Jazzy Belle is the third and last single by Hip Hop group OutKast to be released from their album ATLiens. It was released as a remix single and it peaked at #52 on the Billboard Hot 100. The song is the only single from the album ATLiens to be produced by Organized Noize, the other two singles being produced by OutKast themselves.

jazzy belle

The premise of the track suggested that women are drawn like magnets to money and fame. It also suggests that they are willing to do much of anything simply to be in the presence of what they perceive to be success. I have a problem with this because although many of my sisters would not advocate this with their lips – if the truth be told, many of them are demonstrating this with their actions. Some sisters go through life buying into Outkasts’ philosophy that It’s Real Jazzy-Belle. There is nothing real about subjecting yourself to disrespect and humiliation. There is nothing real about being a groupie, or a sack-chaser (I just told my age with that one).

The bible suggests that the characters in the life of Jezebel were all affected in one way or another by her evil deeds. To obtain detailed account, check out 1st and 2nd Kings (it’s in the Old Testament). According to the bible (and big-mamma), being referred to as a Jezebel was never compliment.

Those who follow my blogs know that I hold black folks, particularly my sisters, in high esteem. However, recent events and observations have caused me to write to what I consider to be an issue of enormous proportion. While I don’t have a simple solution for this rapidly escalating travesty – I do NOT want Outkasts’ misogynistic lyrics to be the final word.

A question to the upstanding, educated, spirit-filled sisters; have you taken the time to uplift another sister who has yet to come into the realization that she is a queen?  If not, I am equally disappointed that you have arrived at a level of maturity, awareness and esteem without bringing along a sister in need of the same.

As I close, I once heard a man say “You can lose money chasing women but you can’t lose women chasing money.” I believe that if we are participating in this game, as a people we’re all lost.

D’s 2cents,

2 cents

Copyright © 2009

Comments
  1. Grace says:

    I’ve know a few Jazzy Belles (as you call them) in my lifetime. Trust me, you can only help a Jazzy Belle so much before they start to pull you down. I’ve tried. I am speaking from experience. I feel where you’re coming from though.

    Grace

  2. Damon says:

    Grace, I totally understand your perspective. You’re talking from experience. At least you’ve tried. So many just site back and talk about their sisters without trying to help them. Thanks Grace.

  3. Robin says:

    Damon I truly believe that love never fails. So I love on and give much respect to my fellow sistahs in the struggle to be better. When I see so many chasing after someone else’s dream, I have to ask “Woman who forgot to show you your value?’ then I make it my business to set about “Not” being neglectful and simply compliment them on their lovely smile or sassy outfit. Seems simple but it goes a long way.

Leave a Reply

