“I’m in the game and still playing.”  Such are the words of the late Tunde Samuels, executive producer of the National Black Theater and dear friend of actor Tobias Truvillion. 

Born October 1, 1967, Tobias Truvillion is an actor best known for his portrayal of the character Vincent Jones of the daytime soap One Life to Live.tobias truvillion

We recently caught up with the New Yorker for this rare interview.  I’m sure you’ll find it as enjoyable as I did.

How did you get your start in the television and film industry?

I was a hungry, ambitious model who wouldn’t let barriers stop me. I was a Ford model for a long time. I did a lot of fashion work.  Along the way I was introduced to Phynjuar (pen-wah) who help me hone in my acting chops. Once bitten by the bug I never looked back. I have a deep passion for the arts.   

You played Vincent Jones in the long-running soap opera One Life to Live.  What was that experience like?

Working on the set of “One Life” was a wonderful experience.  I learned so much from watching great talent like Timothy Stickney, Phil Carey, Bob Woods, Renee Goldsberry and Kamar del Reyes – to name a few. Watching and listening taught me a great lesson. It’s so much more to be a great listener.  Frank Valentini gave me an opportunity and a great character.  I did my best to bring him (Vincent Jones) to life.  I can’t wait to resurrect him and bring him back to the canvas.  I can’t wait to bring that leading man presence back to daytime television.

You are a partner in designing custom shirts called Get On or Get Under.  Tell us about this venture.

Get on the bus or get under? Or get on or get under ?  In its simplest form it’s Get On!  It’s a brand/logo that our team developed.  We’re also a production company. We create commercials, music videos and webisodes. We also build video games and are now moving into developing and producing independent and feature films.  We do almost anything that needs to be recorded.  The core of “Get On” means to do something different with your life.  Follow your dreams. Put in hard work. Determination. Dedication. Disipline. Surrender to God.  Anytime one of us says “Get On” that simply suggests it’s time to do the work!  It means it’s your time to shine. One of the most unselfish acts to do is to give to someone. That’s also what “Get On” means. To give to others treat people how you would want to be treated. “Get On” is more than a brand; it’s a consciousness, a movement of like-minded minds, souls and spirits. Once you “Get On” we’re heading to that Promised Land. It cuts it very clean or dry. Either you’re On or your Under. There’s no time to waste.  Sh*t or get off the pot.

get on or get under

You mentioned Phynjuar, the mother of the late Michelle Thomas.  How is Michelle’s spirit evident in your working relations with Phynjuar?

I am so fortunate to have a wonderful relationship with Michelle Thomas’ mother, Phynjuar. I never had the pleasure to actually work with Michelle, but being around her mother, I see where she gets her beauty her brains and her talent.  (Phynjuar is) such a wonderful soul of unconditional love. Michelle’s light just radiates from her mother.  Integrity, dignity and showing people your talent on high level is not always an easy thing to accomplish.  Michelle did that with ease.  It’s a direct reflection of the love and support her mother gave, and continues to give her. She is deeply missed. 

What advice do you have for aspiring actors?

To all aspiring talent out there be fearless, have tough skin and never use the word “can’t” because anything is possible. Be dedicated to your craft.  Put God first and He will never let you down.  

What projects do you currently have in the works?Brooklyn's finest

I’ve been cast in Antione Fuqua’s new film “Brooklyn’s Finest”, opposite Wesley Snipes and Don Cheadle.  The film is scheduled to be released in November 2009.  Also look out for a movie I did called “The Tested.”  You can go to thetestedthemovie.com to see the trailer. It’s has a 2010 release date.

As I close yet another interview I’m recalling Tobias’ favorite quote: “I’m in the game and still playing.” 

Still playing,

Damon signature

 

 

Copyright © 2009

Comments
  1. ANONYMOUS says:

    Great interview. I saw Tobias on that soap. Its good to know black men are doing good things.

  2. Craigs-List says:

    Damon, this blog it tight! I’m luvin how you tell it like it needs to be told. If they hatin’, so what!!! Craigs-List

  3. Missy J says:

    I think Tobias is hotttt!!!! Please give us more, more and then some more!!!!

Leave a Reply

