64. Commitment to Blackademics

Posted: January 6, 2010 in African American, Black History, Black Pride, Education
Tags: , , ,

If you follow FathersFootprints you already know that our content targets a specific ethnicity; and we don’t wait until February to partake.  Our features in 2010 will be no different.  As a matter of fact, we plan to step up our commitment to Blackademics.

As a Detroit youth I was never interested in history.  My parochial education did not lend itself to Black History other than the usual suspects that include Martin Luther King, Jr, Frederick Douglas, and possibly Harriett Tubman.  I’m not suggesting that the aforementioned were not key figures in our society; I am simply suggesting that they barely scratch the surface.

My rapid descent on middle age has caused me to realize the significance of the accomplishments of Blacks while in America.  My quest for a deeper understanding of who I am has led me to the likes of Claude McKay, Ernest Just, Garett Morgan, Cecil Partee, Robert Elliot, Langston Hughes, James Weldon Johnson, Emmett Chappelle, George Washington Carver, Mary McCloud Bethune, Alexander Crummell, E. Franklin Frazier, Charles Drew, Margaret Walker, Lorraine Hansberry, Benjamin Banneker, Percy Julian, Mark Dean, George Washington Bush, Jean Baptiste du Sable, Daniel Halle Williams, Lloyd Quarterman, Shirley Chisholm and countless others.

If some of the famous Blacks mentioned in the prior paragraph don’t ring a bell, I implore you to take a few moments to better acquaint yourself with them.  If you don’t plan to do your part to become a part of Black history, at least pass some knowledge of self on to future generations.

I close this post with one of my favorite poetic works by the late Anne Spencer.

Black Man o’ Mine

Black Man o’ Mine,
If the world were your lover,
It could not give what I give to you,
Or the ocean would yield and you could discover
Its ages of treasure to hold and to view;
Could it fill half the measure of my heart’s portion. . .
Just for you living, just for you giving all this devotion,
Black man o’ mine.

Black man o’ mine,
As I hush and caress you, close to my heart,
All your loving is just your needing what is true;
Then with your passing dark comes my darkest part,
For living without your love is only rue.
Black man o’ mine, if the world were your lover
It could not give what I give to you.

Until next time,

Copyright © 2010

Comments
  1. D. Olesia says:

    Awesome!!! spoken with true intelligence and class,much love.

  2. D. Olesia says:

    D. Olesia :Awesome!!! spoken with true intelligence and class,much love.

  3. Ty Gray-EL says:

    I just this hour became aware of FathersFootprints and am grateful for being led here. I sincerely appreciate your commentary and will do what I can to help you lay more of these prints that so desperately need to be lain.

    I believe one of the ways we can be more affective as black fathers is if we make more conscious efforts to make…

    
A BLACK WOMAN’S SMILE

Leave a Reply

